HSMAdvisor: Enabling Shared Tool LibrariesMarch 13, 2014, 8:58 pm
March 13, 2014, 8:58 pm
March 13, 2014, 9:43 pm
Sun June 13, 2021, 6:20 am
Sun June 13, 2021, 6:20 am
In HSMAdvisor starting from version 0.750 it is possible for sevaral HSMAdvisor seats to share the same tool and cut library (myCutDB).
All you need to do is tell all HSMAdvisor seats where the shared database file is located. And then check "Shared Database" option in settings page.
This will make all seats use this file in synchronous mode.
Which means changes to the DB made on one computer will automatically propagate to other computers as well.
This is how it looks in a more schematic way:
Whenever any change is made to the Database from one of the seats, shared Database is updated immediately.
Each seat queries the shared DB file every second to see if changes were made to it.
And if it notices changes it simply downloads the shared db and updates the myCutDB page within.
So when your coworker creates a new tool, you can see it appear on your screen right away.
These are the steps you need to perform to enable DB sharing.
- Export your current database. Save one copy of it for backup and save in a safe location (in case things go sour you will not loose all your tooling data)
For that go to myCutDB page, click on [Actions] button and select [Export] -> [Export as XML file] from the drop-down menu.
- Save another copy of exported database in some shared folder, that all computers on your network can access.
For example you have a network drive "U:" , copy the exported database .XML file there.
- In HSMAdvisor Settings page click on [Set myCutDB Location] button.
This will open a "Open File" dialog window. Please navigate to the file you just shared and click OK
- Check [Shared Tool DataBase] check box Right below [Set myCutDB Location] button.
This will allow HSMAdvisor to routinely look for changes and update the shared database file.
If you fail to put that check mark on, the program will function in normal way and all changes will be saved to the file only when you close he HSMAdvisor program window.
This in fact will mean that with "Shared mode" OFF, the last HSMAdvisor instance to close will overwrite changes made to by other instances that might have stored their data before that.
HSMAdvisor can now also function with multiple running instances on a single computer.
Check [Shared Tool DataBase] when you want all running instances to share the library data between them.
Same story here - if you leave that option unchecked, the last window to close will overwrite changes made by other windows that closed before it.